An Introduction…

Hi everyone 🙂

Today is a day filled with new beginnings!  I should probably introduce myself, so my name is Lisa and I’ve recently decided that I’m going to join the Quilting world.  I’ve always been a crafty person, even at a young age I was all about colouring, cross-stiching, painting (although badly), scrapbooking, etc…  Pretty much everything, well, except for serious sewing.

A couple years back I received a Janome sewing machine for Christmas, and as much as I was excited about it, I never really got the hang of it.  No one in my immediate family sewed so no one was there to teach me how to do it.  I had also received a Sewing book which had a cool bag pattern, but at the time I couldn’t figure out how to cut the pieces from my fabrics properly (the sides were just never straight), so I eventually got frustrated and gave up.  Have any of you ever experienced frustrations like this?  When you can’t get something right even though you try over and over again?  Ever since then, the only things I have made on my sewing machine are some Halloween costumes which were all traced from existing clothing, my favorite of which was my Hobbes (from Calvin and Hobbes) orange fleece onesie.  I was really excited when it worked out!

 

A couple weeks ago, I discovered Craftsy, which provides a number of online quilting classes (as well as all sorts of other topics) for free.  I randomly decided to take one (well, I only watched it) and all my conceptions of quilting were turned upside down.  I had no idea that there was such a thing as modern quilting or even that quilting could also be done by machine.  Where I once believed the stereotype that all quilting was done by grandmothers in community halls with dark fabrics, over a period of years, I am completely awed by the revelation that you do not need to be an +60 female to quilt, you can do it at home, it can be done in a short period of time, and fabrics and patterns can be light and modern!  Please do not misunderstand me, I don’t have anything against traditional quilting/quilters and I recognize that these are traditions that have carried on for as far as we can remember and are a part of who we are as a people, but it’s more that I never saw myself fitting in and enjoying the process.  I now realize that I was completely wrong and there may in fact be a spot for me 🙂  

I’ve also decided to start this blog as I’ve noticed over the past couple weeks that there is an amazing blogging community out there with very similar interests. Already, I have learned so much from all these wonderful people, including tutorials, etc.  It simply seems like such a wonderful way to get involved.  I also plan to show my projects (both successes and I’m certain failures) as I learn how to sew properly and move from an absolute beginner quilter to (hopefully) one with some skills and abilities!  Knowing me, I will also likely post about other random things, and hopefully you won’t mind!  So bear with me as I learn both to quilt/sew and how to blog, and hopefully make some new friends in the process 🙂

Leave a Reply

