January BOM – Offset Log Cabin Blocks

Hi everyone,

So I have to say I am soo mad at myself at the moment.  I totally forgot to photograph my first attempt at quilting…  Needless to say I am not impressed with myself.  The first couple steps went very well, I was able to cut some nice strips and squares.  I still can’t believe I just found out about the rotary cutter, SOO much easier to use trying to cut many pieces with scissors.  All my lines were straight, and my corners right angles!

I do have to say I had one major mishap… I was chain piecing on my last strips and it wasn’t until I was ironing my seams that I realized that I had forgotten to place the right sides together.  That’s what I get when I start trying to watch TV while sewing…  Clearly I can’t handle distractions :S  So needless to say, the seam-ripper came out, I undid each of the final rows and then re-stitched them together – properly this time!

As you can see, my end product isn’t all that bad, although some of the sides don’t quite seem to be long enough… I’m off by about 1/8″.  I was trying to figure out why they weren’t quite right (I was using my 1/4″ piecing foot so I knew my seam size was right), and I realized it’s my iron.  It’s such a crappy one that it really doesn’t flatten everything properly, so I’m losing some length because of it.  Do you think it’ll affect me in the end?  I’m hoping it’s a small enough error that I’ll be able to correct it when it’s time to attach all the blocks together.  Fingers crossed!!!

Leave a Reply

